Shekinah on the cover of Cosmopolitan The Beats issue

Durban born songstress Shekinah Thandi Donell covers Cosmopolitan’s The Beats issue.

IMG_20190420_011016

Shekinah opens up about her diverse family and the people that influence her.

IMG_20190420_011001

I have four siblings [her sister, sister-in-law and father are part of her management team]. Growing up was really cool as I have a very diverse family. My parents are white, but they had many friends from different cultures. My mom and dad split when I was in Grade 5. My mom got married to a woman in America, and my dad married a Hindu woman. So multiculturalism influences my music – there are different races and sexual identities everywhere I go. I love Pink, Madonna, Diana Ross… I’m influenced by everyone.

IMG_20190420_011025

 

WATCH VIDEO

Sourced from Cosmopolitan SA

Leave a comment